Kidscreen Awards: shortlist announcement for all categories

28 Dec - 2016

Tags from the story: .

Winners to be revealed at a gala event on February 14 during Kidscreen Summit 2017 in Miami.
Kidscreen, host of the global kids television industry’s leading awards for excellence, is delighted to announce the shortlisted entries that will be continuing in the competition through a final round of judging.
The nominees in the Programming Categories are:


Best New Series
Dot. (The Jim Henson Company/Industrial Brothers/CBC)
Jamillah and Aladdin (Kindle Entertainment/Mediabiz International/Toonz Entertainment)
Nina’s World (Sprout)

Best Animated Series
Clangers (Coolabi Productions/Factory/CBBC)
Doc McStuffins (Disney Junior/Brown Bag Films)
Sarah and Duck (Karrot Entertainment/CBeebies/BBC Worldwide)

Best Non-Animated or Mixed Series
The Adventures of Napkin Man (Breakthrough Entertainment in association with Little Airplane and CBC Kids)
Floogals (Jellyfish/Nevision/Zodiak Kids Studios)
Sesame Street (Sesame Workshop)

Best One-Off, Special or TV Movie  
Katie Morag (Move On Up/CBeebies/BBC Scotland)
Peg + Cat (The Fred Rogers Company/9 Story Media Group)
Peppa Pig Pumpkin Party (Astley Baker Davies / Entertainment One)


Best New Series
Bottersnikes & Gumbles (Cheeky Little Media/Mighty Nice/CAKE Entertainment)
The Deep (DHX Media/A Stark Production)
Home: Adventures With Tip & Oh (DreamWorks Animation Television/Netflix)

Best Animated Series
Miles From Tomorrowland (Disney Junior/Wild Canary Animation)
Scream Street (Coolabi Productions/Factory/CBBC)
We Bare Bears (Cartoon Network Studios)

Best Non-Animated or Mixed Series
Horrible Histories (Lion Television)
Matilda and the Ramsay Bunch (One Potato Two Potato)
Odd Squad (The Fred Rogers Company/Sinking Ship Entertainment)

Best One-Off, Special or TV Movie          
Bruno & Boots: Go Jump In The Pool (Aircraft Pictures)
Shaun the Sheep: The Farmer’s Llamas (Aardman Animations)
Stick Man (Magic Light Pictures)


Best New Series
Bear Grylls Survival School (Potato/BGV)
Lost and Found Music Studios (Radical Sheep Productions/Boat Rocker Studios)
Raising Expectations (Aircraft Pictures in association with Dolphin Entertainment)

Best Animated Series
Bob’s Burgers (Bento Box Entertainment/20th Century FOX Television)
Dragons: Race to the Edge (DreamWorks Animation Television /Netflix)
Voltron Legendary Defender (DreamWorks Animation Television/Netflix)

Best Non-Animated or Mixed Series
Degrassi: Next Class (DHX Media/Netflix)
Gortimer Gibbon’s Life on Normal Street (Amazon Studios/Pictures in a Row)
The Next Step (Radical Sheep Productions/Boat Rocker Studios)

Best One-Off, Special or TV Movie
The Curse of Clara: A Holiday Tale (Smiley Guy Studios)
L.M. Montgomery’s Anne of Green Gables (Breakthrough Entertainment)
Nowhere Boys: The Book of Shadows (Matchbox Pictures)
These shortlisted entries will be reviewed and assessed by a fresh panel of judges, including the following execs: Andy Yeatman (Netflix), Sarah Muller (Channel 5), Amy Friedman (Sprout), Lucy Murphy (Sky), Grainne Rowe (Disney Channels EMEA), Jackie Edwards (BBC Children’s), Andrew Thomas (Hulu), Nina Hahn (Nickelodeon International) and Deirdre Brennan (Corus Kids).

The nominees in the Broadcasting Categories are:

Channel of the Year

Best Channel Design

Best Programming Block
CBS Dream Team, It’s Epic! (Litton Entertainment)
Sunny Side Up (Sprout)
WILD Kids (National Geographic)

Best Channel Website
Nick Jr.

Best On-Air Host or Hosting Team
Jonas Lihaug Fredriksen, Henrik Hildre—FlippKlipp Studio (NRK Super)
Charlie Engelman, Kirby Engelman, Patrick Rahill—Nature Boom Time (National Geographic)
Carly Ciarrocchi, Tim Kubart, Kaitlin Becker, Emily Borromeo—Sunny Side Up (Sprout)

The nominees in the Digital Categories are:


Best Learning App—Tablet
Hopster (Hopster)
Nick Jr. App (Nickelodeon Digital)
Pocoyo Playset: Let’s Move (Early Learning Collaborative/ HITN/Zinkia Entertainment)

Best Learning App—Smartphone
Curious World (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)
HooplaKidz Nursery Rhyme Activities (YoBoHo)
Ready Jet Go! Space Explorer App (Wind Dancer Films/Two Moos)

Best Game App—Tablet
CBeebies Playtime Island (BBC)
Curious George Train Adventures (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)

Best Game App—Smartphone
Curious George Train Adventures (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)
Curious World (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)

Best Streaming Video Platform
BBC iPlayer Kids (BBC)
Hopster (Hopster)
NOGGIN (Nickelodeon Digital)

Best Web/App Series
Disney Whisker Haven Tales with the Palace Pets (Disney Publishing Worldwide)
Elmo at the Zoo (Sesame Workshop)
Sesame Street Happy Birthday Songs (Sesame Workshop)

Best Website
Dinosaur Train (The Jim Henson Company/Sparky Entertainment)
NickJr.com (Nickelodeon Digital)
Ready Jet Go! (Wind Dancer Films/Two Moos)

Best eBook
Colored Dots (Uyoung Interactive Technology Co.)
PAW Patrol—Meet Tracker! (Nickelodeon)
PAW Patrol—Pirate Pups (Nickelodeon)


Best Learning App—Tablet
La Francomobile (TV5 Québec Canada/Manito Média/Tobo)
Little Lunch (Australian Children’s Television Foundation)
Nancy Drew: Codes & Clues (HeR Interactive/Brandissimo!/Picture Fish Studios)

Best Learning App—Smartphone
Monkey Spot Scavenger Hunts (Monkey Bar Collective)
Nature Cat’s Great Outdoors (Spiffy/PBS/REDspace)
Nickelodeon: Code a Character (Nickelodeon Digital)

Best Game App—Tablet
Animal Jam—Play Wild! (WildWorks)
Flipped Out—The Powerpuff Girls (Cartoon Network Games/Grumpyface Studios)
Toca Blocks (Toca Boca)

Best Game App—Smartphone
Cut the Rope: Magic (Zeptolab)
Teeny Titans—Teen Titans Go! (Cartoon Network Games/Grumpyface Studios)
Total Drama Presents: ‘Donculous Dash (Secret Location/Cartoon Network Canada/Fresh TV/Bell Fund/Teletoon)

Best Streaming Video Platform
Flipp Klipp Studio (NRK Super)
Nick.com (Nickelodeon Digital)
Toca TV (Toca Boca)

Best Web/App Series
Don’t Mix Us Up (Toca Boca/FableVision)
Secret Life of Boys (Zodiak Kids Studios for CBBC and ABC Australia)
Tsum Tsum Kingdom (Disney Consumer Products and Interactive Media)

Best Website
Animal Jam (WildWorks)
National Geographic Kids (National Geographic Partners)
Nick.com (Nickelodeon Digital)

Best Tablet
LeapFrog Epic (LeapFrog)
La Tablette Motion 2 by Gulli (KD Interactive/Taldec/Gulli)

Best eBook
Little Lunch: A Teachers’ Guide (Australian Children’s Television Foundation)
The Restricted Adventures of Raja (RedRover/Sticky Brain Studios)
Stand Together! Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows (Nickelodeon)
These shortlisted entries will now be reviewed and assessed by panels of professional judges, including the following execs: Angela Lin (YouTube), Azadeh Jamalian (Tiggly), Jens Peter de Pedro (Monkimun), David Kleeman (Dubit), Eric Huang (Made in Me), Daniel Bays (Lightning Sprite Media) and Brenda Bisner (Baby Toes Media).

All Kidscreen Awards winners will be announced and celebrated at a special presentation event and after-party during Kidscreen Summit, on the evening of Tuesday, February 14.
Additional details about the Kidscreen Awards, including categories, eligibility, judging and entry process, can be found at awards.kidscreen.com.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Read our last issue


Genius Brands continues to power Kartoon Channel! Content with acquisition of hit global children’s franchises Now offering over 5,000 episodes of children and family programming, Genius Brands International, Inc. (“Genius Brands”) (NASDAQ:GNUS), continues to rapidly...

read more